Posted by: willenvelope | November 28, 2008

Rubbish reviews, part 3

It doesn’t only apply to pet punk albums:

p1030325

This is from the 1979 Rolling Stone Record Guide. By 1983 the tune had changed somewhat: The older Bon Scott albums (the best ones) still hung in the one-star or, worse, bullet-box universe, but 1980’s Back in Black was awarded three stars, while its lame 1981 follow-up, For Those About to Rock, was named AC/DC’s first four-star record. I’ll have to check the ’92 edition to track the ongoing reassessment, but I think it’s safe to say that Back in Black is now considered the band’s pinnacle, a no-brainer five-star record for every hack music writer who waddles this earth. Just to illustrate how very different I am, though, I’ve always preferred the stuff that couldn’t buy a single star in 1979.


Responses

  1. I ought to listen to the early one star stuff. The five star AC-DC-AT-THEIR-PRIME stuff leaves me cold. Think I’d prefer Status Quo (although not a lot).

  2. yeah, yeah, I know, I’m a stupid fvckin’ record reviewer…. jeez, walked into that one. At least I’ve been consistent since 1991!

  3. Lately I’ve been playing along with “Ride On” (from 1976’s Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap). Great slow bluesy number — yet not a ballad. One of the coolest things about AC/DC (and there are many cool things about AC/DC) is that they’ve never recorded a single ballad in 35 years.

  4. Is that entirely so? Maybe “ballad” is a cultural construct, and “Let Me Put My Love into You” is Australian for “Angel.” And how tuff is that? “I’m in tears and the cryin’ that I do is for you” becomes “Let me cut your cake with my knife.”
    And we haven’t even mentioned “She’s Giving the Dog a Bone.” That’s LOVE I’m talkin’ bout, l-u-v.


Leave a comment

Categories